Renegades

Are you ready for some football? I’ve already given you my predictions for this weekend’s games but now I am downright giddy for the games to begin.

Adding to my excitement is Styx’s appearance at Heinz Field on Sunday. Not only will they be performing the national anthem, but also a special a cappella rendition of “Renegade” as a bonus. When did this happen? How did this happen?

Granted, I remember this mullet rocker clearly as one of the first songs that a certain impressionable eight-year old was ever introduced to on rock radio. But that was 30 years ago!!! Why is this a “battle cry for Steelers fans” now?

If the Steelers win the Super Bowl, will we see Tommy Shaw in Pittsburgh’s famous Golden Triangle try to top this performance by “the one and only” Steve Perry after the victory parade when the White Sox won the World Series in 2005?

I can only hope that this “battle cry” remains in heavy rotation for one more season at least. I have every intention of getting to Pittsburgh next season to see my Packers in their first regular season appearance in the Steel City since 1998.

If Styx happens to come back for a reprise of the national anthem, it would immediately rise to #2 on my list of all-time in-person national anthems, just behind Lou Rawls and just ahead of Huey Lewis & the News.

And if not, just hearing the crowd roar as the Steelers gear up for a big defensive stand with the chant of “the jig is up, the news is out, they finally found me” will make my heart stir. Not quite Go Pack Go! (find that little Listen Now button – it will be worth it, trust me), but epic nonetheless.

Enjoy the weekend.

~ by acm213 on January 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
