Fly Like A Bird

So this happened:

"Brace for impact"

"Brace for impact"

The crash of U.S. Airways Flight 1549 is an amazing story on so many counts, but one that actually makes me that much more confident flying our airways.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  The thought that an 81 ton machine can be taken down by a bird is a little disconcerting, to say the least.

But how can you not marvel at the skill exhibited by Capt. Chesley B. Sullenberger in guiding this crippled aircraft to a smooth, fatality-free crash landing?  I feel much better taking my chances flying the friendly skies with my life in the hands of an ex-Air Force pilot nicknamed “Sully” than getting behind the wheel of my car and sharing the crowded roads with a variety of distracted, tired, unskilled, and selfish drivers.

Disagree?  You’re probably not alone.  In that case, I recommend you check out airsafe.com, which has been tracking fatal airline crashes and other “significant events”, compiling and reporting on that information since 1996.

As for me, I won’t think twice about getting on my next flight tomorrow.  I’m more interested to see who gets a reality show or a book deal out of this.  Talk about hitting the lottery. 

And, for the record, my money is on anybody other than Sully capitalizing on this.  My guess is that he’ll be back in the air by this weekend.

~ by acm213 on January 15, 2009.

One Response to “Fly Like A Bird”

  1. If your name was Chesley the III, you also would go by a nickname. The biggest suprise to me is he wasn’t having tea and crumpets with Mortimer and Osgood at the country club, but flying a jet airliner. Even rich and snotty parents can produce an American hero!

Leave a Reply

 
