Try, try again

Making predictions on pro football games is one of the dumbest things that you can do publicly.  I won’t try to top it with a list of comparable public acts, but use your imagination.

That being said, I am going to try again with this week’s NFL Conference Championship action in Phoenix and Pittsburgh.

Now, last week I knew I was screwed when I logged on to The Sports Guy a full 3 days after I had posted my picks to see that he had made the exact same picks.  After a humiliating 0-4 weekend, let’s try this again.

Home Sweet Dome

Home Sweet Dome

I don’t care how many times the Cardinals pull the “No Respect” card, or sport “Prove It” t-shirts, call me a doubter.  They still have the feel of a team that is just happy to have gotten this far.  I also believe that the Eagles are convinced that this their time and will benefit from witnessing the beatdown that Arizona put on Carolina last weekend.  Philadelphia provides a healthy dose of respect for Arizona, and wins 24-13, with Kurt Warner providing the decisive turnovers necessary for victory.

White Lightning

White Lightning

As for the AFC Championship, I’ve just simply stopped doubting the Ravens.  Joe Flacco’s return to Pittsburgh and Jim Leonhard’s rise from college walk-on to NFL starter are great stories in any season.  Add in a rookie head coach on a mission and I just can’t pick against Baltimore.  They will walk out of Heinz Field with a 17-14 victory over the Steelers.

If I miss these both, I promise to stay out of Super Bowl prognostication.  Probably for the best.  I don’t want to wind up like this guy:

"Let me tell ya something you may not know..."

"Let me tell ya something you may not know..."

~ by acm213 on January 17, 2009.

6 Responses to “Try, try again”

  1. I like Arizona 31-21 and the steelers 24-13. Jim

  2. Jim, I may “hire” you to do picks from now on. Great work! My only thoughts on the Super Bowl right now is that it will be among the lowest-rated ever. At least Steeler Nation will be tuning in.

  3. Pittsburgh over Arizona 23-7. You heard it here first. Man is the Super Bowl going to suck. This looks like the NY Giants against the Baltimore Ravens Super Bowl from 2001, only Trent Pilfer won’t be the winning qb.

  4. I am ready to post an entry that declares a moratorium on College Football Playoff talk from ANYONE who has a problem with this Super Bowl matchup. You can’t have it both ways, folks!

  5. Ratings aren’t the be-all, end-all. The highest rated Super Bowl definitely would have been Cowboys vs Patriots and, despite the preseason picks of many prognosticators, neither even made the playoffs. Let the best teams decide it on the field. Not on a computer.

  6. […] for me, I am done with predictions for awhile. I think I’ll stick to something more my speed, like Super Bowl […]

Leave a Reply

 
