Stamping out hunger

I know that I’m getting old when I find myself reminiscing.  So many things in life have changed over the years, many (of course) for the better.  But I’m a simple sort and, as such, the simple things in life are what I appreciate.

And I really appreciated when the mail arrived around noon every day.  Even knew the letter carrier’s name when I was growing up – everybody knew “Dan The Mailman”.

Sometime along the way, I came to accept the fact that the mail wouldn’t make it to my mailbox until mid-afternoon.  I’m not home most days to pick it up at 2:30pm or so, so what’s the difference? 

But now that my mail isn’t delivered until nearly 5pm, it seriously makes me wonder where my mail carrier is all day.  Well that and the fact that I have seen my mail carrier in her truck on my street taking very long breaks before actually completing her route.

I don’t know what’s up with the mail service anymore.  Perhaps Postmaster General John Potter has a master plan.  Well, actually he does – and it involves cutting mail service on Saturdays.  But that’s a story for another day.

This week’s Stamp Out Hunger Food Drive is reason to cut our letter carriers a break for at least one day. 

hunger

The National Association of Letter Carriers will be conducting their 17th annual Food Drive this Saturday, May 9th.  Their website calls it “the largest one-day food drive in the nation” and that works for me.

The NALC, in conjunction with the United States Postal Service, will be collecting non-perishable food items (i.e. canned meats and fish, canned soup, juice, pasta, vegetables, cereals, and rice) and all you need to do to participate is to leave the items at your mailbox on Saturday. 

Giving should always be this easy.  No expired items or glass containers.  Just do it.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

~ by acm213 on May 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
