Well, that was fun…

Just twenty-eight days to go.  Yes, four weeks from tonight it will be time to say goodbye to 2009 and, ostensibly, the decade that many of us will choose to forget.

Personally, I don’t think it was as bad as some of the pundits would make it out to be in this age of gloom-and-doom journalism, but Time magazine clearly does – giving thanks for the end of the ’00s in this week’s cover story, “The Decade From Hell”.

Andy Serwer makes his case for why the last ten years were a “lost decade” in the lengthy feature, which includes a photoessay of The 10 Worst Things About The Worst Decade Ever.

I guess I’ll subscribe to this national (international?) catharsis on one condition – that wallowing in the failures of the past ten years assures a different perspective moving forward. 

It’s tiring to be so dismal and pessimistic and, ultimately, the energy wasted in that exercise would be better served toward making a difference in our collective futures.

Perhaps it’s naïve, but there are still some who envision a better place on this Earth.  One of those, Ben Harper, contributed a song during this “decade of broken dreams” that should probably be the soundtrack while reviewing the lowlights of the ’00s.  And one that will hopefully be a mantra for the next 10 years and beyond.

Check out “With My Own Two Hands” here.  The lyrics are simple but poignant:

I can change the world
With my own two hands
Make a better place
With my own two hands
Make a kinder place
Oh- with my
Oh- with my own two hands
With my own
Oh- with my own two hands
With my own
With my own two hands

I can make peace on earth
With my own two hands
And I can clean up the earth
Oh- with my own two hands
And I can reach out to you
Oh- with my own two hands
With my own
With my own two hands
Oh- with my own
Oh- with my own two hands

I’m gonna make it a brighter place
(with my own)
I’m gonna make it a safer place
(with my own)
I’m gonna help the human race
(with my own)
(with my own two hands)

Look, perhaps things will get worse before they get better.  Serwer, the managing editor of Fortune, proposes in his piece that the potential is there to go either way, but that there are “some hopeful signs”.

Who knows?  The future is unwritten.

But that is the blessing here.  Before we (consciously or not) buy into a “top this” mentality, waiting for the next disasters to trump those from our recent past, maybe a philosophy of personal responsibility would be better suited to change what has gone wrong in recent years.

Much more will be written and discussed about this “decade from hell”, but unless there’s an intention to ensure an avoidance of a repeat performance in the future, it will be nothing more than worthless smoke and hot air.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

~ by acm213 on December 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
