And then there were four…

Congratulations to the Saints on a tremendous season and a well-deserved championship to bring back to the city of New Orleans.

The Saints’ victory tonight in Super Bowl XLIV leaves just four teams (out of 32) who have not participated in any of the NFL’s first 44 Super Bowls.

The Houston Texans and Jacksonville Jaguars at least have an excuse as expansion franchises, but long-suffering fans of the Cleveland Browns and Detroit Lions have to look at the celebration tonight in Miami (and on Bourbon Street) and wonder when – if ever – they will experience the opportunity to erase years of ignominy.

Drew Brees, Super Bowl XLIV MVP

But that’s for another day.  The Saints are the “Aints” no more.  And Mardi Gras might just be only the second-biggest party in Louisiana this February.


~ by acm213 on February 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: